i am hanging on every word you say @ 5:09 a.m. on 03.29.2005

I skipped back a few entries and found myself right smack in the middle of 2003, and I was like wow, it really has been a long time. Then I read this entry, about my friend Nathan. It was so shocking how I felt then, I remember how I felt writing that entry, all the emotion and regret.

Now, as I was reading it, I tried to feel that way again, and it wouldn't work. I guess no one would know but those who were his friends but the second he left, things changed between him up there and everyone else down here. I don't even know who he is anymore. I'm amazed (I almost wrote "lucky" but the truth is, it hasn't mattered in a long time) to even see him when he comes down here, we are THAT estranged. I can't believe I called him my best friend then... I'm sure he was, but I can't even REMEMBER what that felt like. I remember our good times, our memories of high school and whatnot... but those were quickly forgotten. I remember him and I being close, and then him and Este getting closer. So while all of us have gotten distant and we just don't know who this person is anymore, what with all the problems and drama because of this rift he's stayed closer to her than me. But reading this entry I realized I just don't care anymore. If I can't even FEEL what it is I felt then, that day he left, all of my remorse and regret... then why would I care of what or who some STRANGER remembers or cares about more?

God things have changed so much. And just not... I was going to say "not for the better" but I don't really know about that. People keep shoving this "everything happens for a reason" bullshit down my throat but maybe that has some merit. I just don't know where I'm going.

the past & the future

pastnotebook